Religious Places Of Himachal Pradesh

A number of pilgrimage centers and Hindu temples are situated in Himachal Pradesh. There are more than two thousand Temples in Himachal Pradesh. These Temples are also magnificent works of architecture. The temples are the centers of attraction for the visitors and tourists. Many of them are also associated with ancient legends.

According to documents that Sati's eye fell at this place where the Naina Devi temple is built. The temple of Maa Naina Devi is situated in the district of Bilaspur in Himachal Pradesh.

Jawalmukhi temple is one of the most famous temple in Himachal Pradesh. According to the Hindu legends, Sati's tongue fell in the place where the temple is being erected. The Hindu temple is built in homage to goddess Jawalmukhi, also known as Maa Jwala Ji. The meaning of Jawalmukhi is mouth of flames.

The temple of Maa Chintpurni is dedicated to Maa Chintpurni and Chhinnamastika Devi. It is situated in Una district. The deity has derived such a name from the idol of goddess Durga in the temple, which is without a head.

The Baijnath temple is situated in the Bias valley of Himachal Pradesh. It is a temple that has been dedicated to Siva Vaidyanatha, meaning the Lord of the physicians.

The Laxmi Narayan Temple is one of the oldest temples and also the largest one, situated in the Chamba district of Himachal Pradesh. There are six temples that are situated in the complex of the Laxmi Narayan Temple.

The temple of Bijli Mahadev is situated in the Kullu valley of Himachal Pradesh. The altitude at which the temple is situated is about 2,438 meter amidst a beautiful location.

The Hadimba Temple is built to pay homage to Devi Hadimba. The second pandav, Bhim was the husband of Hadimba.

The Renukaji Temple is built near the Renuka Lake. It is built in the memory of Renuka.

To know more about the Himachal Pradesh Temples

  • Naina Devi
  • Jawalmukhi
  • Mata Chintpurni & Chamunda Devi
  • Baijnath Temple
  • Laxmi Narayan Temple
  • Baba Balak Nath
  • Bijli Mahadev
  • Hadimba Temple
  • Renukaji Temple
  • Manu Temple
  • Vaisno Devi Temple